Radioactive Iodine Ablation

>

Today I received radioactive iodine treatment for my Graves’ Disease. The decision to have this treatment was a difficult one for me–despite the fact that I’ve been feeling awful for months (dizziness, muscle weakness, overall tiredness, chest pains, heart palpitations) simply because the idea of killing off a part of me didn’t seem right, and introducing a radioactive substance to my body seemed no less ludicrous.

After a great deal of thought and a failed attempt at anti-thyroid drugs (I had the rare side effect of liver damage) radioactive iodine became the best treatment option.

If you or someone you love is struggling with Graves’ Disease and is also in the midst of making this difficult decision, here are some websites I found useful that you too may wish to explore:

http://www.mayoclinic.org/graves-disease/treatment.html
http://www.radiologyinfo.org
http://www.endocrinologist.com/

 Feel free to share your story or post questions. I will do my best to answer them here.

About Amy Joy

Founder of the Indie Writer's Network, Amy Joy is the author of serious and silly books for adults and kids including 2012 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist THE ACADEMIE (YA dystopian romance).

Leave a Reply

