Smoothies: Coffee Replacement and Recipe for Good Writing

An avid coffee drinker since I was old enough to walk and steal sips out of mom’s cup when she wasn’t looking, I could argue the merits of coffee till the end of time…or my time anyway. But unfortunately, I’ve learned with time that coffee has as many bad effects as it has good. One of the worst–that doctors don’t have to tell us about: caffeine crash.

So what do we do? We drink more.

Eventually, we crash hard enough that we have to give in and get some sleep. The trouble: whether you realize it or not, drinking coffee during the day is now affecting your sleep too. This means you’ll need more coffee the next day (and incidentally, your brain gets used to the stuff too, so it’ll delay really turning on until you’ve had that morning cup) and the cycle continues.

Before you begin to panic, let me offer another delicious and just as satisfying solution: fruit smoothies. As someone who as a child almost never ate fruits or vegetables, I still can’t believe it’s me saying this, but it’s true: fruit can replace coffee.

Here’s what I’ve found:

  1. Fruit gives as strong a high–if not higher, without the jitters coffee brings–which is great if you want to hit the keys right to bang out that new story or article!
  2. Fruit offers the clarity of mind and clarity of thought I’ve never experienced with coffee. Suddenly, I find that am able to articulate myself like never before. Again, brilliant if you’re looking to crank out the next best-selling novel!
  3. Fruit and coffee cost about the same.
  4. Unlike coffee, fruit will help you sleep good at night.
  5. Eating fruit helps the digestive system.
  6. Eating fruit can be just as addictive as coffee. But this time, it’s a healthy addiction!
  7. Eat fruit and your body will love you for it. While coffee ages you faster and creates not-so-lovely wrinkles, eating fruit makes you look and feel younger!
Don’t believe me? Try it for yourself. Fresh fruit will work fine, but if you’re an avid coffee drinker like I was, you’ll probably need to have something in a cup (the “cup of comfort” as I think of it), so go for a smoothie. There are lots of places that sell them now, but you have to watch out for ones that don’t use real fruit or add sugar. A good smoothie doesn’t need added sugar because it has plenty of the natural stuff–and that’s the stuff that gives the real high!

But you can also do what I do: make them at home.

Here’s my simple recipe:
  • Strawberries (fresh is way better than frozen)
  • Banana
  • Yogurt (I like to use Stoneyfield Organics Strawberry)
  • Ice
I use roughly a cup of each ingredient, maybe a little more (2 cups of ice), and mix it all together on high in the blender until it all looks smooth and creamy. This will make one small smoothie for both my husband and me, or one large one for me if I make one while he’s away.
You can also change up the ingredients to include any fruit you love. We’ve used blueberries, cherries, pineapple–you name it. It’s all delicious.
Try it and let me know what you think.
Tags: , , , ,

About Amy Joy

Founder of the Indie Writer's Network, Amy Joy is the author of serious and silly books for adults and kids including 2012 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist THE ACADEMIE (YA dystopian romance).

3 responses to “Smoothies: Coffee Replacement and Recipe for Good Writing”

  1. Angie says :

    >Oh, those smoothies sounds good!!! My problem is that I'll drink cold drinks rather quickly whereas with hot drinks it takes me a LONG time to finish them. I usually only drink one cup of coffee a day, but it lasts 2-3 hours in my thero cup. If I had a cold drink (even a frappacino) I'd have that baby gone in half an hour. And then I'd be thirsty. Nice to meet you, btw!!

  2. Angie says :

    >Hmm… it would appear you don't have a followers widget on here. Highly recommended so that people can get updates on your posts with the other blogs they follow. The email thing does work, but the followers widget is more common. Just a suggestion. 🙂

  3. Amy Joy says :

    >Thanks for the comments, Angie. I think that is true about hot drinks vs. cold. I do tend to keep my hot drinks much longer. Thanks also for the "followers" suggestion. I posted it now. Nice to meet you. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

